Hicham Fenniri

Dr. Fenniri received all his degrees from the University of Strasbourg, France. After a postdoctoral fellowship at the Scripps Research Institute, CA, USA, he moved to Purdue University, IN, USA, where he established the Purdue Laboratory for Chemical Nanotechnology (1999). In 2003, He joined the National Research Council as a founding member of the National Institute for Nanotechnology and as full professor of chemistry and biomedical engineering at the University of Alberta (Canada, 2003-2013). Dr. Fenniri is currently Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering, Chemistry & Chemical Biology at Northeastern University, Boston, MA, USA. Dr. Fenniri’s contributions appeared in over 220 peer-reviewed publications, 21 patents and patent applications, and over 500 contributed national and international conference papers. Dr. Fenniri has also lectured extensively around the globe and has been an invited professor at several institutes and universities.

Eduardo Sontag

Eduardo Sontag received his undergraduate degree from the University of Buenos Aires and his Ph.D., from the University of Florida, both in mathematics. In January 2018, after a 40-year career at Rutgers, he became a University Distinguished Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering and in BioEngineering at Northeastern University. He has authored over five hundred research papers and monographs and book chapters, and is a fellow of IEEE, AMS, SIAM, and IFAC. Sontag has been awarded several major prizes, including the Reid Prize in Mathematics by SIAM, the 2002 Bode Prize and the 2011 Control Systems Field Award by the IEEE.

Eno Ebong

Joined the Chemical Engineering Department in Fall 2013.

The primary focus of our research is to study the means by which endothelial cell mechanotransduction occurs in order to prevent or promote atherosclerosis. We are applying engineering to study the structure and function of the endothelial cell surface glycocalyx that directly interfaces with flowing blood and sheds in the presence of atherosclerosis. We are using cryopreservation (rapid freezing/freeze substitution) and transmission electron microscopy to define the ultrastructure of the endothelial surface glycocalyx and its changes as a result of the macro- or micro-vessel origin and due to the bio-chemical and -mechanical environment. RNA interference techniques, fluorescent intracellular biomarkers, fluorescence confocal microscopy, and protein biochemistry are applied to further clarify the mechanisms by which various flow patterns impact endothelial cell surface glycocalyx ultrastructure, its transduction of fluid forces into biological responses, and its role in vascular health or disease. In vivo studies are performed using high fat fed apolipoprotein E (ApoE) knockout mice, a well-established animal model of atherosclerosis, to determine which glycocalyx components can be targeted to prevent, diagnose, or treat atherosclerosis.

Herbert Levine

Physical modeling of cancer progression, metastasis and interaction with the immune system. Most recent interests include the role of metabolic plasticity in these processes and the co-evolution of the tumor and the adaptive immune system. Other areas include spatial organization of the actin cytoskeleton, the mechanics of collective cell motility, and the analysis of genetic circuits involved in cell fate decisions.

Srinivas Sridhar

Srinivas Sridhar is University Distinguished Professor of Physics, Biomedical Engineering and Chemical Engineering at Northeastern University, and Lecturer on Radiation Oncology, Harvard Medical School. He is the Director and Principal Investigator of Nanomedicine Academy and the NIH CaNCURE programs, and the founding director of the Nanomedicine Innovation Center, an interdisciplinary center with research and education thrusts in nanomedicine, nanomaterials and neurotechnology.

From 2004 to 2008 he served as Vice Provost for Research at Northeastern University, overseeing the University’s research portfolio. Sridhar’s current areas of research are nanomedicine and neurotechnology. His paper in Nature in 2003 was listed among Breakthroughs of 2003 by the journal Science. He has published more than 200 articles on his work in nanomedicine, neurotechnology, nanophotonics, metamaterials, quantum chaos, superconductivity and collective excitations in materials.

Sridhar was elected Fellow of the American Physical Society “For elegant experiments providing seminal insights on left-handed metamaterials, quantum chaos, vortex and quasiparticle electrodynamics in superconductors, and collective excitations in low-dimensional materials”.

Srinivas Sridhar was awarded the 2016 Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) Diversity Award . The citation reads “Specifically your impact by establishing the Nanomedicine Academy of Minority Serving Institutions, directing an NSF IGERT on Nanomedicine, a Cancer Nanomedicine Co-Ops for Undergraduate Research Experiences (CaNCURE), and through mentoring of women and URM biomedical scientists including faculty, postdoctoral fellows, graduate and undergraduate students.”

Lee Makowski

Heather Clark

Heather Clark is a Professor in the Departments of Bioengineering and Chemistry at Northeastern University. She received her PhD in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Michigan, and completed a postdoc in the Center for Cell Analysis & Modeling at the University of Connecticut Health Center. Dr. Clark’s research focuses on the development of nanosensors to measure concentrations of ions and small molecules at the cellular level, as well as in vivo. She has received awards for both research and teaching, including the DARPA Young Faculty Award. Her work has been featured in a live CNN interview, the Wall Street Journal, WIRED magazine and MIT Technology Review.