northeastern university seal

High School Marine Science Symposium

Photo by Matthew Modoono/Northeastern University

Call for Presenters

Scientists, graduate students, educators, and others working in marine-related fields are invited to inspire the next generation by presenting hands-on workshops and drop-in activities to high school students. Click here to submit a proposal.

Submissions will be accepted through December 6th

Teachers – Save the Date

High school students and their teachers/chaperones, please join dozens of local experts as they share their knowledge, skills, and passion for marine science-related research and practice.

The symposium will feature hands-on workshop sessions, drop-in demonstrations, and a keynote presentation by a special guest. This event is sponsored by Northeastern University’s Marine Science Center, and the Massachusetts Marine Educators (MME), with additional support from many dedicated volunteer presenters. The High School Marine Science Symposium has been continuously offered by MME for over 30 years. Don’t miss it!

Event Information

The event will feature workshops, table demonstrations and a keynote speaker, affording a diversity of opportunities for students to interact with marine science experts. During sessions 1, 2, and 3, students will attend two workshops, and during their third session will circulate between the table demos, meeting and networking with presenters.

Date: Thursday, March 5, 2020, from 8 am — 1pm at Northeastern University in Boston


8:00- Registration

8:45-Welcome and Orientation

9:10-9:40- Featured Presentation

9:50-10:30-Session A

10:40-11:20- Session B

11:30-12:10 Session C

12:20- Lunch

Students learn about horseshoe crabs during the Third Annual Boston High School Marine Science Symposium held in the Curry Student Center on March 9, 2018. Photo by Matthew Modoono/Northeastern University


Presentersfollow this link to submit a workshop or table demonstration proposal. You will receive a confirmation that we received your submission, and then in January you will be notified whether or not your proposal has been accepted. Submissions will be accepted until December 6th.

Teachers – Registration for schools will launch in January. We encourage teachers to get administrative approval for the trip now, so you can register ASAP once registration goes live, because the event is popular and fills up quickly.


$15 per student, and teachers/chaperones are free. A light morning snack and lunch will be provided, and vegetarian options will be available.

Persons with any other dietary restrictions are advised to bring their own food.


This year we are pleased to offer a limited number of scholarships to students attending school in districts where >40% of students are classified as economically disadvantaged (click here to check eligibility based on district profiles). Scholarships will be available on a first-come, first-served basis until all funds are allocated. Due to the limited amount available, there is no guarantee that an entire class or school will be covered. Schools are responsible for providing their own transportation.

What else do I need to know?

All schools are responsible for providing their own transportation to/from the event, including those receiving scholarship funds.

Can I sponsor this event?

If you or your organization is interested in providing scholarship funds for students from low-income school districts to be able to attend, it can do so at the $100, $250, $500, $1,000 or higher level. Please contact Emily Duwan. Sponsors will receive special mention in our program as well as at the events, and donors at the $500 level or higher will also receive special mention on event signage.

Click here to make a scholarship donation.

Thanks to our generous 2019 event sponsors and scholarship donors: Wade Institute for Science Education, Bow Seat Ocean Awareness Programs, East Coast Divers, Woods Hole Sea Grant, Friends of Lynn and Nahant Beach, Boston SCUBA, Bill Andrake, Amanda Madiera, Jennifer Albright, Heidi Baker, Richard Choate, Sara Perini, Aemi Herrera, Anne Smrcina, Peter Fifield, Scott Haggerty, Nate Rycroft, Sara Williams, Ben Moran, Susan Bryant, and David Eatough