2019 Campus Stock

College of Science Excellence in Teaching Award Nomination Process

The Awards recognize and reward outstanding NU College of Science faculty for excellence in teaching.  These teaching awards were established to confer honor upon individuals whose inspiration and contributions to student learning are truly significant. The award is presented annually. Each awardee receives a certificate and $1000. Up to three faculty may be selected each year.

Eligibility: All full-time faculty members in the College of Science are eligible.  Nominees must have completed at least three consecutive years of teaching experience in the Northeastern University College of Science prior to nomination.  Eligible faculty must have taught at least two different classroom, laboratory, seminar, or on-line/hybrid courses during the past two years.  All candidates are expected to have taught within the calendar year preceding nomination.  Faculty may be nominated on the basis of graduate teaching, but their qualifying experience must include undergraduate teaching.  While research supervision of individual students may be cited in support of a candidate, nominations should be based primarily on class instruction.

Qualifications:  All candidates must have:

  • Demonstrated success as a teacher by combining mastery of the subject matter with an ability to inspire students to higher levels of scholarship and intellectual curiosity;

  • Improved the tools of and/or conditions for teaching (e.g., the development or redesign of courses, curricula and/or laboratories, application of innovative teaching strategies and/or assessment, fostering an inclusive learning environment);

  • Consistently demonstrated teaching effectiveness that exceeds the normal expectation for a faculty member.

Learn more here and fill out a nomination form here.

Previous Winners:


Melissa McElligott Biology


Dawn Cisewski Psychology

Brent Nelson Physics


James Monaghan** Biology

Yurong Chai Biology

Thomas Kelley Physics


Rein Kirss CCB

Dori Woods Biology

Ann Van de Ven-Maloney Physics


Oyindasola Oyelaran** CCB

Prasanth George Mathematics


Richard Bailey MES

Jude Mathews CCB

Missy McElligott** Biology

**Winner of University award

Winners before 2022 are not eligible for three years after receiving the award. Beginning in AY 2021-2022, winners are not eligible for five academic years after the academic year in which they received the award, e.g., a 2022 award winner would be eligible in 2027-2028 academic year.

Photo by Matthew Modoono/Northeastern University.